Do you remember learning to ride a bike?

Some of my favorite childhood memories are on my bike.  I vividly remember the day I learned to ride.  My Mom was out in the street with me and told me she was holding the bike.  Of course, when I looked back, I was riding off without her.  I went around the block about 30 times in a row that day, each time screaming to Mom that I was doing fine and just wanted to do one more time around.  How exhilarating that first ride was!  As kids, we didn’t have a car at our disposal, so we learned quickly that if we wanted to get anywhere, biking was the fastest way.  I remember showing up at town baseball games on my 10-speed and not thinking much of it.  Nowadays, kids get driven everywhere (unless they are urban kids like mine and have learned to either walk or navigate public transportation by the age of 2).  Likewise, I remember being on the back of my Dad’s tandem bike.  We would ride that bike up and down hills, with Dad telling stories up front and us soaking up the moment and loving that, at the slow pace of a bike, we could get more time to spend with him (Dad’s rule on the tandem was that we could quit pedaling ONLY if we were giving him a back rub).  Like so many things in life, I didn’t realize how lucky we were to have these special moments on our bikes.  Now that I am a parent, I want my kids to have these experiences.  I want them to feel the independence, the confidence, the serenity.  Don’t we all deserve that much?

One Response to Do you remember learning to ride a bike?

  1. […] cycle wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptLikewise, I remember being on the back of my Dad’s tandem bike. We would ride that bike up and down hills, with Dad telling stories up front and us soaking up the moment and loving that, at the slow pace of a bike, we could get more … […]

Leave a Reply

